from The TRAGICAL HISTORY of EVERYMAN – KNOWLEDGE

Daytime. A garden. EVERYMAN sits by a tree. Enter KNOWLEDGE.

KNOWLEDGE: O EVERYMAN, the more you ponder beneath that tree, the more I shall reveal to you!

EVERYMAN: Who is it that addresses me so?

KNOWLEDGE: I am the SPIRIT of KNOWLEDGE. He who seeks me shall know. The more you search, the more you shall find.

EVERYMAN: O great SPIRIT, what is the purpose of my tenure on EARTH?

KNOWLEDGE: I cannot tell.

EVERYMAN: Well, what is the one true FAITH?

KNOWLEDGE: This, too, I cannot say.

EVERYMAN: Why?

KNOWLEDGE: I can tell you only of that which can be found through sensory experience.

EVERYMAN: But I have senses of my own. What is the need for you?

KNOWLEDGE: I am simply the personification of an abstract concept.

EVERYMAN: Oh.

pause

EVERYMAN: Why is the sky blue?

KNOWLEDGE: Because air is more apt to scatter radiation with shorter wavelengths. You wouldn’t really understand.

pause

KNOWLEDGE: Alright. I’d better be going.

EVERYMAN: See ya.

Exit KNOWLEDGE

~ by norealname on April 7, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
